Love

I sat down
By  the sea.
I ran a hand
Down my cheek.

I had fallen in love
Exactly at this spot.
With you right beside me,
All beautiful and calm.

I studied your features
Day and night.
I saw you
For who you were.

I see you everywhere
Yet I seem invisible
To you
And your heart.

This is painful,
Loving you.
But I’d rather love you
Than die having not.

That day I confessed,
You left your fingerprints on my face.
That disappeared
But not the crack in my heart.

Soon, I see you with him,
You’re laughing.
I suppose  you were happy now
You never did need me, after all.

Years flew by
You disappeared from my world.
Then you suddenly appear one day,
Broken inside and out.

Those marks on your face,
Similar to what you left on mine
That cracked lip
Like the crack you gave my heart.

Is this payback?
You don’t seem to care.
You don’t even fight anymore.
But I need you to.

Will you see me this time?
I’d forgive you in a heartbeat.
Do you need me now?
I’ve always been around.

But this time around
I shan’t hold a flame to you.
I was burnt once
I shan’t be, twice.

I still love you though, I always have.
But you’ve shown me
How to love myself first, always
And that, I never will forget.

Leave a comment